Python and accidental function overloading

Today I discovered one dark side of Python. If you accidentally have two functions with the same name, then the last one is considered, and the first one is like it never existed. There is no overloading based on parameters (I was about to say types :-). Python will just call the second function (second as it appears in the source code). If the number of parameters don’t match, you will get a runtime error, but if the number of parameters match, it’ll be executed silently.
My accidental overloading resulted from the following sequence of events:

1. I had a function DoOperation
2. At a later date I realized I need to break that into 2
DoOperation
DoOperationAck
where DoOperation still does the main processing, but DoOperationAck sends the result or acknowledgement to whoever is interested in the result.
The only problem is I had forgotten to rename, so I ended up with 2 DoOperation(s).

While this was a programming defect I’ve introduced, Python surely didn’t make it easy for me to catch that.

Nasty.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

